Peggy Gou - DJ-KICKS

Peggy Gou


$310.00 Sale Save

The inexorable rise of Peggy Gou continues with the South Korean artist’s DJ-Kicks entry. In just 3 years she has progressed from the release of her debut EP to becoming the first South Korean DJ to play the Berghain. Following sold out releases on labels such as Rekids, Ninja Tune, Technicolour and more recently kicking off her own label Gudu with the Moment EP, here we see her refine her ebullient house style as well as demonstrate her proficient finesse as one of the most in-demand selectors at the moment.

A mix self professed as to not reflect her sets played at clubs all over the world - all year round, but to reflect her own musical journey crossing genre boundaries with BPM's from 90 to 150. Including both new unreleased material and personal favourites dating back to 1983.

The quartet of grooves that kick things off here are all leftfield takes that deal in acid (Pearson Sound), ambient rave (Spacetime Continuum), no wave (Pegasus) and Balearic new beat (Gou’s own ‘Hungboo’). They set the scene nicely for the rest of the mix, one that spends a good chunk of time in electro and house territory before veering off in the final third to take in pure noise, IDM and a little tech-house. Nine full-length versions make it onto the double-vinyl edition, three of which - Gou’s ‘Hungboo’, I:Cube’s ‘Cassette Jam 1993’ and Hiver’s ‘Pert’ - are exclusives.

A1 - Peggy Gou - Hungboo (DJ-Kicks)
A2 - The System - Vampirella
A3 - Pegasus - Perseguido Por El Rayo
B1 - I:Cube - Cassette Jam 1993
B2 - Sly & Lovechild - The World According To Sly & Lovechild (Andrew Weatherall Soul Of Europe Mix)
C1 - Deniro - Epirus
C2 - Psyche - Crackdown
D1 - Hiver - Pert
D2 - Aphex Twin - Vordhosbn