Charles Mingus  - Mingus At Carnegie Hall

Charles Mingus

Mingus At Carnegie Hall

$485.00 Sale Save

Deluxe Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 3LP!
Complete Set At Carnegie Hall Played In Its Original Order For The First Time!
Mastered/Lacquered & Sourced From The Original Tapes For Maximum Fidelity!
With Over 72 Minutes Of Previously Unreleased Material!

Originally recorded in January 19, 1974, Mingus At Carnegie Hall was released as a 1LP that only featured 2 long tracks ("C Jam Blues" and "Perdido") from the concert; one track per LP side, and features Jon Faddis, Charles McPherson, John Handy, George Adams, Rahsaan Roland Kirk, Hamiet Bluiett, Don Pullen, and Dannie Richmond. Yet the original concert in January of '74 included 2 hours of performances, but nearly 70+ minutes were left on the cutting room floor. With jazz music on the decline in the US in the 1970s, Atlantic Records was probably concerned about releasing a 3LP set at a higher price point that only the most ardent fans would purchase at the time.

Well after 47 years and in honor of 2021's Black Music Month, Run Out Groove has righted the course of this ship, issuing the complete 1974 Mingus At Carnegie Hall album with over 72 minutes of unreleased material and putting the original running order of the concert in correct sequence. The deluxe 3LP set features never-before-seen photos taken by original photographer Gosta Peterson and new liner notes by Jazz historian and producer, Michael Cuscuna.

A1 - Introduction
A2 - Peggy's Blue Skylight
B1 - Celia
C1 - Fables Of Faubus
D1 -Big Alice
E1 - Perdido
F1 - C Jam Blues